Canada Day

Happy Canada Day!

Today was an extremely relaxing day. It started off with a Greens smoothie, followed by Wimbledon, and then cooking! I have to say that the highlight of my day was the game between Lisicki and Williams. Although I was disappointed with Serena Williams’ loss, Sabine Lisicki played extremely well . Now I can’t wait for the quarterfinals as I am sure it will be an intense match between all of the players. Half way into the game, I went upstairs to grab a snack, which turned out to be mangosteen, “Queen of the Fruits.” For those of you who haven’t heard of this delicious and tropical fruit rich in antioxidants, let me tell you, it is delicious! It is extremely succulent and sweet– almost like a lychee. I may have not taken the best photos, as they do not look very appetizing, but I’ve come to terms that not all tasty food has to look good!

Exterior of the mangosteen

Exterior of the mangosteen

SONY DSC

The black spots that you see are actually the seeds of the mangosteen

The black spots that you see are actually the seeds of the mangosteen

Later on in the day, it was time to prepare (or reheat) my lunch! On Saturday, June 29th, my mom and I went over to Brickworks Farmers Market and bought a tray of Chef Doug McNish‘s Vegan and Gluten Free Cheesy Squash Baked Mac N Cheese with Smoked Tofu and Kale. It is one of my most favourite dishes. The creamy “cheese” sauce made with butternut squash is very flavourful and not overly salty, like many other vegan mac n’ cheese dishes. In order to bring more texture to the dish, there is a  gluten free breadcrumb crust, which is my favourite part because it adds some crunch to the mac n’ cheese. The bits of kale and tofu are also a great addition of some veggies and protein, and work extremely well in the pasta dish.

"Cheesy" Goodness

“Cheesy” Goodness

The butternut squash gives the mac n' cheese such a vibrant and natural colour-- none  of that artificial orange colour that is found in most cheddar cheese

The butternut squash gives the mac n’ cheese such a vibrant and natural colour– none of that artificial orange colour that is found in most cheddar cheese

For dinner, I prepared some tasty roasted potatoes with EVOO, chive, basil, rosemary, garlic, pepper, and salt– boy did they taste good! They were perfectly seasoned and not too salty.

Seasoning the potatoes

Seasoning the potatoes

Coming out from the oven

Coming out from the oven

The colours of this dish were beautiful

The colours of this dish were beautiful

Well, that’s all for today, got to get working on my assignment for school! Have a wonderful night!

Leave a Reply

